Tag Archives: OCC Shoeboxes

OCC Wrap Up

Collection week is always fun.  Getting to talk to the various folks that come in the door is a great remedy to the cynicism we are so often drenched in.  None of them have to do this.  And there is no immediate pay off unless you count a sticker or a piece of chocolate from me a payoff.  But they do it out of charity.  And that charity creates opportunities.  For us this year was a good year not just in battling cynicism, but also in numbers various.  1,429 shoeboxes collected, 95 cartons, 65.5 volunteer hours, 114 boxes from our own congregation.  Soli Deo Gloria.

Operation Christmas Child

We are a Shoebox Drop Off Point for OCC this year. Our days are Monday, November 18 thru Monday, November 25.

Monday – Friday (18th-22nd): 4 PM – 7 PM

Saturday (23rd): 9 AM – Noon

Sunday (24th): Noon – 3 PM

Monday (25th): 7 AM – 10 AM

Operation Christmas Child (Shoeboxes!) Drop Off

St. Mark’s is a drop off location for Samaritan’s Purse – OCC shoeboxes again this year. Here are the formal hours of collection week.

Mon, Nov. 12: 4:00 PM – 7:00 PM
Tue, Nov. 13: 4:00 PM – 7:00 PM
Wed, Nov. 14: 4:00 PM – 7:00 PM
Thu, Nov. 15: 4:00 PM – 7:00 PM
Fri, Nov. 16: 4:00 PM – 7:00 PM
Sat, Nov. 17: 9:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Sun, Nov. 18: 12:00 PM – 3:00 PM
Mon, Nov. 19: 7:00 AM – 10:00 AM

Many of those days there will also be someone here during regular church hours that would be happy to collect the box.

Shoeboxes Packed

Our Women’s Group finished packing their boxes this morning. Had to wait for the last minute arrival of the playing cards and erasers. Although the big thing is the soccer balls and pumps. I hope the kids don’t mind playing with “USA” emblazoned “futballs”. 51 boxes plus the wider congregation has already dropped some others off plus some will come in Sunday. I’d like to thank everyone in the congregation who contributed to our box drive. I’d also like to thank everyone who has helped with being a collection site this year. Our hallway is filling up with boxes with the big days to go.

Operation Christmas Child – Shoebox Collection

We are a shoebox collection point this year. The hours we are open for collection are:
M-F Nov 13 – 17 4-7 PM
Sat Nov 18 9 AM – 12
Sun Nov 19 12 – 3 PM
Mon Nov 20 7 – 10AM